Tax Sale Instructions for Tax Buyers

Deadline for valid registrations is 4:30 PM CST, November 16, 2023.

Will County will hold its annual tax sale on December 4, 2023 at 10 am CST. It will be held at the Treasurer Office at the Will County Office Building, 302 N. Chicago St., in Joliet, IL 60432. All buyers must personally check in with the Treasurer office between 8 am and 10 am CST that morning. You must bring a blank check made payable to “Will County Treasurer” and your USB. The winning bids will be emailed to the taxbuyer(s) by Joseph E Meyer & Associates.

The Sale will be conducted using the R.A.M.S. 2 – Randomized Auction Management System. Registration eligibility is subject to the Single Bidder Rule (35 ILCS 200/21-205). Tax Buyer registration will begin on October 1, 2023 and must be received by the Treasurer office by close of business on November 16, 2023 at 4:30 pm CST. Registration entitles you to one (1) buyer number. All registrations received incomplete or after this time will be returned (no exceptions). Please download the Registration packet: [Download link available Oct. 1, 2023]



The Treasurer and his staff will NOT provide legal advice or counsel. It is vitally important that first-time tax buyers read the Illinois Compiled Statutes. Chapter 35, Act 200, Article 21, Division 4. Annual Tax Sale Procedures, and/or visit the Illinois General Assembly web page for Tax Sale information. Knowledge regarding procedures and statutory requirements is the tax buyer’s responsibility.

You are required to send the deposit in the amount of $500.00 made payable to “Will County Treasurer” along with all completed registration forms to our office. All registrants must also include a separate check made payable to “Will County Treasurer” in the amount of $225.00 for the Delinquent Tax Sale List. This List fee is non-refundable. Upon completing application forms and making payment to the Will County Treasurer, a digital file will be emailed to you by Joseph E. Meyer & Associates, Inc. every week beginning November 16, 2023. Registrants who fail to notify this office at least five (5) business days prior to the tax sale, or who do not show up the morning of the actual sale, will forfeit the $500.00 deposit.

Additionally, a blank check must be submitted to the Treasurer’s office prior to the start of the tax sale. Bidding starts at an interest rate of 9%, and tax liens are sold to lowest bidder randomly selected by the RAMS-2 program. After sale is completed, the Treasurer’s staff will complete this check in the total amount purchased (less deposit). Joseph E. Meyer & Associates will deliver to you a file with your successful purchases. Any parcel not bid upon by a registered tax buyer defaults to “Will County as Trustee” with a bid of 9%. These certificates may be purchased from the Will County Trustee after the tax sale. Some parcels from the Delinquent Parcel List will not necessarily be offered at the sale for any of the following reasons: paid by owner; bankruptcy; forfeiture; exempt; foreclosure; court orders; or other reasons as required by law.

If your deposit exceeds the total amount purchased, your refund will be made after the sale has been completed and balanced. Several weeks after the tax sale, for each parcel/PIN purchased, a Sale Certificate will be issued by the Will County Clerk in the name of the registered tax buyer. This Sale Certificate represents a lien against the property. Please contact the Will County Clerk’s Office at (815) 724-1880 with any questions regarding your certificates.